“If I Should Speak: The Movie”

Posted: April 11, 2011 in Pre/PostProduction

After finishing Doctor, Director (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=He2WVaxSYcw), I was searching for new material.  I met a sister in Houston, Texas who highly recommended If I Should Speak, by internationally acclaimed author, Umm Zakiyyah. 
As a filmmaker, I tend to quickly visualize what I read, and like so many readers, I was deeply moved by her first book and felt this story needed to be conveyed visually.  I pursued her through mutual contacts and asked her for the rights to make a movie based on her book.   Alhamduillah she agreed.  I initially thought of making a movie but realized it would be better to make a mini-series based on the trilogy.  I hope to begin shooting in summer 2011, inshaAllah.



Comments
  1. […] on any upcoming movies of Umm Zakiyyah’s novels, visit the producer’s page at https://skozfilms.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/if-i-should-speak-the-movie/ $j(document).ready(function() { $j('.sidebar-gallery li:nth-child(3n)').addClass("last"); […]

  2. Secretly Identified says:

    YAYY!!! MASHALLAH!! I’M SOO EXCITED! I enjoyed watching Doctor, Director mashallah, it was amazing!

  3. […] For information on any upcoming movies of Umm Zakiyyah’s novels, visit the producer’s page at https://skozfilms.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/if-i-should-speak-the-movie/ […]

  4. Miss Sandra says:

    I can’t wait for the movie. I can’t wait. I can’t wait…. I rreally can’t!

  5. Rasheedah Muslim says:

    Masha Allah, Tabarik Allah. I remember after reading “If I Should Speak” thinking it should be made into a movie as it would be great dawah! My dua has been answered. I can’t wait to share the movie with my family! May Allah reward you and make this film widely distributed and seen by millions! Ameen

  6. Camilla Obasiolu says:

    Assalamu Alaikum,
    My name is Camilla Obasiolu. I am 12 years old currently turning 13 in August of 2011. I hear Umm Zakiyyah’s book ‘If I Should Speak’ is coming out with a movie. I love that book wholeheartedly, it is one of my all-time favorites. It would be my dream to act in this movie. I enjoy acting and modeling very much. I ask if you are looking for anyone for the cast of the movie. If so please e-mail me at: xoxocamilla@gmail.com or my mother at: srisuratman@verizon.net if you are interested.
    Thank you and my warm greetings,
    I hope you complete the movie successfully. InshaAllah 🙂
    Camilla Obasiolu

  7. […] book trailer for Umm Zakiyyah’s latest novel Hearts We Lost and find out more about If I Should Speak–The Movie. Go […]

  8. Zainab says:

    Assalamu Alaikum!

    So, summer’s almost finished, and we all are wondering if this is actually happening 🙂 If so, when would the mini-series be coming out? Has shooting started yet? Jazak Allahu Khairan!

    • skozfilms says:

      waaalykum asaalaam Sister Zainab,

      We’re in pre-production and we’ll update the blog as we get closer to the shooting stages. The reason for delay, as usual, is lack of resources i.e. funding. We’re doing our best to raise funds to cover expenses, which including equipment rental and actors fees, etc. But, getting funding for media related projects is challenging, especially when many Muslims consider entertainment as ‘haram.’

  9. fajer says:

    Dear sir,
    Regarding”Doctor, Director”, I watched the clip at youtube and I’m wondering where I can find the full movie?

    Thank you,
    Fajer

Leave a Reply

